## Brunswick Civil War Round Table Scholarship in History

In 2019, the Brunswick Civil War Round Table in conjunction with University of North Carolina Wilmington created the Brunswick Civil War Round Table Scholarship in History. It's an annual scholarship of \$1,000 awarded to a deserving student who pursuing a graduate degree in history at UNCW. The scholarship will be awarded annually in the name of a person who made significant contributions to the BCWRT.

The past winners of the scholarship are listed below.

The Scholarship for 2025-2026 is in honor of Charen Fink, founder of the Women's Forum, Director and Advisor of the Brunswick Civil War Roundtable.

The Scholarship for 2024-2025 is in honor of Wally Rueckel, the co-founder and Past President of the Brunswick Civil War Roundtable. The scholarship was awarded to Nicholas D. Shelley, an MA student at UNCW with a focus on French Colonialism in the Americas. He is also a Graduate Teaching Assistant and actively involved in wheelchair sports. The BCWRT scholarship was critical in making it possible for pursuing his dream of a MA in History.

The Scholarship for 2023-2024 is in honor of Gary Krupp, the former Treasurer of the Brunswick Civil War Roundtable. The scholarship was awarded to Ryan Richards, an entering M.A. student at UNCW, who just received his undergraduate degree in May 2023 from the State University of New York at New Paltz.

The Scholarship for 2022-2023 is in honor of Dan Fink a former member of the Brunswick Civil War Round Table. The scholarship was awarded to Brian Fiorel, an entering student in the Public History Concentration. He is doing work for the Cameron Art Museum related to their sculpture installation that commemorates the U.S. Colored troops who helped captured Wilmington in 1865.

The Scholarship for 2021-2022 is in honor of Max Williams a key member in the establishing of the BCWRT and the original program director. The scholarship was awarded to Samuel Flowers, who is starting his second year in the UNCW graduate history program in August 2022.

The Scholarship for 2020-2021 is in honor of Ed Bearss, a renowned historian and longtime supporter and presenter at the BCWRT. The scholarship was awarded to Aeris Carter. She is defending her thesis this summer (2022).

The Scholarship for 2019-2020 is in honor of Tom O'Donnell a cofounder of the BCWRT and its first president. The scholarship was awarded to Matthew Poirier. He will be entering the Ph.D. program in History at Auburn University in the fall of 2022 to continue his study of the Civil War History and Memory.